Nightly Reflections – Saturday, May 28th, 2016

A so-so day.  A little sun, but many more clouds, and still not as much rain as they’d have us think we would get.  I think most are happy with the rain we did get, however.

This was another one of those days where staying in had more attractive qualities than going out.  Since I make sure not to have to go to a grocery store on the weekend, I had no real need to head out anyhow.  I did, though, run to Starbucks as I wanted some coffee beans.  Plus, staying inside will drive me crazy some days and today was one of them.  So, just getting out, rolling the windows down and driving a bit helps.

Before the 3pm Brewer broadcast began, I was playing around with some topics for the next column I have to write.  And I came up with several topics that had potential for some exploration, but I don’t believe they merit two double-spaced pages.  So, I think it’s time to pull out my handy dandy safety net and revert back to my “Random Thoughts” column. I’ve gone to these over the four years I’ve written it at times when a topic is just nowhere to be found.  I think I’ve actually done pretty well these past several weeks, but it’s time to talk a little about several topics rather than to pontificate on one for two pages.  I’ll start to write it later in the week and see how it plays out.  Another topic idea could come to me in the meantime, but now I at least know I have this idea to fall back on.

I’ve been attacking my next book I’m reading.  I shared this title with you earlier this week.  The Fireman by Joe Hill, Stephen King’s son.  It’s 750 pages.  Pretty much a monster in my world.  Just holding on to it while reading is a challenge, but I’ll choose that approach over downloading it on my Nook.  Nowhere near the fun.

In any case, this book is off to a helluva start.  Here’s a description word for word from this week’s USA Today paper.  “The Fireman is the tale of a contagious spore called Dragonscale that causes its victims to spontaneously combust. Its heroine is a young pregnant woman with a penchant for Mary Poppins.”  From page one, the plot is off to the races.  It’s a page turner.  The last book I felt that about was his father’s 11-22-63, a book I talked about here several times.  There are several stories on cable television that sort of run along these lines.  Here’s another passage from the USA Today articlle to give you a little more about the book’s credibility as seen by others.  The USA Today’s book reviewer said it was a  “ ‘…superbly crackling’ thriller and gave the book ***½ out of four stars. The Washington Post’s verdict: a ‘splendid, fast-paced apocalyptic tale.’”  So, you decide if that sounds like a story you’d be interested in reading.  I just bought it this week and there were other books I was considering pulling off my shelves, but this one sat on my coffee table all week.  I would pick it up while finishing my other book and I was quickly hooked.  The other books will have to wait 🙂

I think I need to put a copy of the book’s cover here again for tonight’s photo to catch the attention of the book readers out there. Therefore, I will 🙂

For most of you out there, it’s only Friday night.  Two more days to this weekend.  Bring on the decent weather now.  So sayeth Brooks.

See ya tomorrow night.

G’night!

fire

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.