Nightly Reflections – St. Patrick’s Day, 2018

Hi.  My name is Private Brooks.  Do you like my hair?

Every damn time I have to see myself in the mirror, I feel like one of those young recruits we see in films going through the ritual of losing their hair as they roll into boot camp.  When I woke this morning and headed into the bathroom, I had forgotten what it was I was going to see.  Then I saw it.  Dear God.  What the HELL was that woman thinking???

Ok, now that I have that off my chest, I’m sure it will rear its ugly head later in the Reflection.  How was your Saturday?  It was Mother Nature’s biggest tease yet.  I think tomorrow will be the same.  I opened the patio door a smidge today for the Willsters.  He loves to sit in front of it, watching the yard and listening to the sounds of the outdoors.  He grows tired of it eventually, but for awhile, he’s riveted.

How about last night’s Virginia defeat?  Wowzers!  What a game!  Nothing close to it today.  Today’s games have actually been less than exciting.  It’s why I finally left the house.  I figured I needed to get out, but I didn’t really want to go anywhere where people would recognize me.  Of course, that’s almost a contradiction as no one has ever seen me with hair like this.  Perhaps they’d either not recognize me or feel too much pity for me to speak to me.  Have I mentioned how much I hate this haircut?  The first person, as it’s beginning to look, to see me with this thing could be the cleaning folks on Tuesday. I suspect if I greet her at the door with a smug smile and a “Good morning, Clarisse,” it might send her running back to the car and hauling butt outta here.  Ugh.

I was restless today.  I won’t deny it.  The incident that unsettled my world three weeks ago isn’t going away like I’d hoped it would.  It’s not weighing me down, necessarily, but it’s nagging at my thoughts.  I really want to get to the next stage of dealing with this now rather than later.  In any case, I picked up the laptop and headed to Burnsville’s Starbucks where I figured I’d stand less of a chance to see people I knew than had I gone in this area.  Or on Cliff cuz I’ve run into many there.  And, I saw no one in the Burnsville store so that worked 🙂  I wrote the column for this coming week.  It’s one of those columns I’m content with, that I tell myself “It works,” but it’s not one of my finer columns in my estimation.  It speaks to two challenges teachers deal with in March.  I’ll see what my test group has to say, if anything.  These folks don’t get the paper and have asked me to send it to them early when I send it to the editor at the paper.  So I do.  I often hear from at least three of them.  And I appreciate that.

Other than that, the day has been uneventful.  I thought once about pumping up the tires of the bike, but then I figured with the forecast that’s coming down the road, I’ll end up not riding it and pumping the tires again, so I’ll just wait once I know we’re past this 40-degree stuff we can’t quite seem to shake.

Two weeks from this weekend is Easter already.  I have to figure out when I’m going to work in The Greatest Story Ever Told and The Ten Commandments.  Two movies I like to watch each Easter season, as we get closer to Easter.  I own them, so it’s not like I am going to miss seeing them, but the question is when to watch them.  This weekend has been impossible as I want to see the games.  Next weekend, there’s the Sweet Sixteen and the Elite Eight so not sure it will happen on a weekend at all.

Ok.  I’m done.  Trying to decide if I’m hungry enough for dinner or if a bowl of cereal will do tonight.  I had a late lunch of a ham sandwich in my panini maker along with some chips, so not overly hungry now and still I don’t like eating a meal after 7.  And it’s darn near that time now!  Yikes.  Gotta go.  Have a good night and Sunday and I’ll return in 24 with more on the “Hair, Hair, Who’s Got My Hair” saga.  🙂

Oh, and Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

G’Night!

pats

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.