Nightly Reflections – Tuesday, August 28th, 2018

Good evening and welcome to your sneak peek of fall.  I am a big fan of today’s temps.  Take away the rain and give me this all of September and October, throwing in sunshine from time to time to keep me from losing my mind.

How went your day?  The sunshine is coming now.  The next two days should be prime days for those people heading to the fair or for those simply wanting two nice days to be outside.  It was a little bit of a long day for me as I’ve been tired all day.  My buddy came over last night late and we stayed up and watched TV until … well, too late.  Not so much for me but for him.  How the hell he manages to get through a work day after being up so late is beyond me.  Granted, he’s younger than I am but not that much.  Because of his late stay, I didn’t crawl out of bed til nearly 8.  And Willy was a sweetheart for not bugging me til almost then as well.  The weather also didn’t help my energy level.  But I managed to get myself out of the house at one point to pick up a few items.

Last week, I started on a mission to find a DVD of On Golden Pond.  I don’t understand why it’s so difficult to find a retail copy, but even Amazon was sketchy in its inventory.  I actually went through them and ordered a copy that, at the time, looked odd on the cover, but I put that thought in the attic cuz I figured it was nothing.  I paid less than $15 for it.  It said it would be nearly a month before I’d get it.  And yet, it said it shipped three weeks before I finally did get it.  Where the hell was it coming from?  Well, when it got here two weeks ago, I can tell you it was likely not an American DVD.  None of my devices would play it.  I’d insert the DVD into whatever I had and it kept coming up with the message, “Can’t Be Read” or something similar.  Ok.  Threw it.  Began my hunt again and realized I could order it through Barnes and Noble.  So, I ordered it last Thursday and it arrived at the Burnsville store yesterday from the warehouse.  $25 later and it’s in the house now.  My history with this film is, and I may have shared this with you a year ago, I saw it in Rice Lake one weekend with several of my students.  I was student teaching at the time.  Rice Lake had an old theater that was perfect for movie watching.  I was very moved by the film that I would see multiple times over my lifetime.  It’s been years since I’ve watched it, however.  And there are films I throw in at bedtime only between Memorial Day and Labor Day.  This will be one of those.  Kathleen Hepburn and Henry Fonda open their cabin at the beginning of the movie and they’re closing it up by the end cuz summer is over.  I plan to watch it before Monday.  And likely cry.  The music moves me.  And when I first saw the movie, I was years away from being one of the Thayers.  Now, I’m closer than ever.  And I think about that when I think of that film.  It’s such a sweet movie.  I look forward to seeing it again before next week.

Speaking of emotions, I just finished another night with America’s Got Talent.  This night may be the toughest competition going into tomorrow night’s results.  I wish I could post any link here from the live show tonight, but it’s just too soon.  They’ll be posted by bedtime, however.  You need to check out three videos.  David Emmett, who is a young opera singer who was eliminated only to be brought back in the wild card bracket.  His performance tonight is beyond brilliant.  Zurcaroh, a dance team that blew everyone out of the theater tonight.  You have to see this performance to believe it.  I’d pay good money to sit through a show of theirs.  Finally, Michael Ketterer, a singer who I wrote about weeks ago.  He is the father of six kids and he has taken on children through adoption that were living unbelievably hellish lives.  God would be proud of his creation in Michael.  The man is simply goodness personified.  He can also sing well.  And his performance tonight was quite moving, especially knowing his back story with his wife and the six kids.  Simon was asked to respond to his performance first and he couldn’t speak.  I don’t think we’ve ever seen Simon Cowell choked up but he was making me tear up.  Everyone on the panel and I think in the audience is moved by this man, this father, this singer.  You really need to check out his performance tonight too.  Google it and go to videos and look for tonight’s video versus his other performances on the show.  I can’t imagine the country won’t vote him into the next round.  Inspiring.

So, that’s all I’ve got.  Humpday around the corner.  Get over it 🙂  Then it’s soon to be a 4-day weekend!  On the first day of school, for the fourth year, a couple of my retired peeps with whom I taught and myself will be taking a little drive down LaCrosse way to mark another year of retirement beginning.  We’ve done it each year.  I think many retired teachers do something on that day yearly.  Makes perfect sense to me 🙂  So, there!

G’Night!

IMG_7674

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.