Nightly Reflections – Sunday, November 25th, 2018

Well, I can finally say this…ONE MONTH FROM TODAY IS CHRISTMAS!  There. That felt good.

And now I’ll repeat what I said last night…I NEED SUNSHINE!

Today was a no-brainer of a day.  I shared that I started watching a new HBO series with subtitles, My Brilliant Friend.  Well, despite my uncertainty if I was going to stay with it, after two episodes, I can say I will.  It’s compelling stuff.  If you’re interested in it, read about it through their website or Google.  The two little girls are damn fine little actresses.  The first two episodes have had a punch to the gut ending thus far.  Not sure if that will continue, but I guess I’ll see soon enough.  Tonight is episode three.  There are eight in all.  I’ll be watching.

Tonight is also the second episode of Enemies:  The President on SHOWTIME.  Last week was the Nixon scandal.  Tonight is the Reagan/Oliver North scandal.  Mind you, I’ll have to record it because tonight is the big game.  Game #2 between this state’s team and my state’s team.  Tonight will dictate whether or not I care to find a place to watch my team play on December 16th when they go up against the same game time for the purple team.  Yup.  The towel is in my hand.  I just haven’t thrown it in yet.

My friend and I are doing this daily picture exchange that’s connected to our Christmas addictions.  I shared that with you a few days ago, I believe.  Well, tonight’s picture is the one I sent her as well.  I thought it made a nice story for the Reflections tonight.  Years ago, when Mom was alive and working at the bank as a teller, she came home one night during the Christmas season with something.  Apparently, someone had come to the bank, offering the employees a deal on a box of six wax figurines, the ones you see in the picture.  I could be so wrong about this, but it seems I remember her paying $5 for a box of these.  They are actually candles, but who would light these?  She had a box for my oldest brother, the second oldest, me, and my sister.  I don’t think the twins were old enough yet, if even born, to merit a box.  Once I was on my own and decorating my apartments through the years and now my home, I never missed a year to pull them out and place them in key places where I’d see them each and every day, time and time again.  Mom is here when I see them.  And that’s good enough reason for me to continue to do so.  They’re cute, at best.  But they mean so much more years later.  They have to be over 40 years old. And I put them on my desk for the sake of the pic, but they’re scattered across my fireplace mantle with other Christmas joys.  And that’s tonight’s pic.

My sister sent me a piece of news yesterday that has shaken all of Beaver Dam and probably outlying areas.  Just outside of Beaver Dam, there has existed a tree farm.  Every year, people rely on this tree farm for their Christmas tree.  I have been with my sister and her husband when they’ve purchased theirs after Thanksgiving.  Suddenly, this year, without warning, people are driving out there only to be greeted by a THANK YOU FOR YOUR LOYAL SUPPORT sign, indicating that “WE HAVE RETIRED.”  That’s it.  No warning.  Apparently multiple semis went driving into the property, every tree on the farm was chopped down, sent through the tree wrapper and hauled away on the semis for the South.  The long and short of it?  People have to figure out what they’re doing for a tree this year.  In a damn hurry.  Today, my sis and her hubby spent much of the morning driving around town to see what they might find at various places who sell trees as a sideline.  However, their fear is when were the trees cut and how long will it live in a house before the needles drop.  And when they went to check on artificial trees, they’ve already been picked through.  Dilemma.  Seems so weird the folks at this tree place didn’t give the citizens who “SUPPORTED” them throughout the years a little more heads up.  But, they didn’t.  And now, the town scurries.  And as I’m telling this story, I can’t help but think this would make a helluva fun story to write.  The Town Without A Christmas Tree.  Hmmm…..

In any case, tomorrow is Monday.  Those of you who have been on a four-day weekend…the party is over and it’s time to go to bed early and face the sounds of the alarm clock in the morning.  But, in another month, it all happens again.  This time on the flip side of a weekend, rather than the front side of one.  Christmas is on a Tuesday so most people will be looking at another four day-er.  At least I hope.

The game is two hours away.  I have to figure out what dinner will be.  In the meantime, I think I need a cup of coffee.  Have a good start to your week.  See you tomorrow night.  And dare I say…GO PACK?  (gulp)

G’Night!

IMG_0251

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.