Nightly Reflections – Sunday, October 25th, 2020

As always, if I don’t start with this, I’ll forget I need to do it. Last night’s pic from a “horror” movie. It wasn’t quite the typical “horror” film as I’ve been doing. But, when I was a little boy, this creation came from the folks who were responsible for Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer, Santa Claus Is Coming To Town, The Year Without A Santa Claus, and more. I remember going to see it in October, maybe even on Halloween, and it was a kids’ movie. That image from the pic was supposed to be Boris Karloff. His character was Baron Von Frankenstein. And he had already created his monster. However, he had created something that would destroy the world and he wanted to announce it to all the other horror characters, including Dracula, the Werewolf, the Mummy and so many more. Phyllis Diller was another celebrity lending her voice to the Monster’s Mate. The movie title? Mad Monster Party. It’s kind of horrible, but a little boy wasn’t a critic. He was mesmerized by a movie that looked a lot like a few of his favorite Christmas specials. 🙂 So, there you are.

Second item to briefly mention. Last night’s ending to Game Four of the World Series. Going into the game, the Dodgers led the Rays 2-1. By the ninth inning of a very exciting back-and-forth game, the Rays were down by one run in the bottom of the ninth. If they lost, they’d have no choice to win the final three games to stay in the Series and to win it. However, they didn’t need to worry about that. It was an incredible ending and one more reason why I continue to just love baseball. You need to simply check out the replay from the final at bat. It was incredible. And the Dodgers went to the showers kicking themselves. So, tonight is not a do-or-die game. It’s merely Game Five. The Series is now guaranteed to go to at least Game Six. Yay!

Ok. Now, happy Sunday. Not much to sing about with no appearance by the sun again, though as sunset approached, the sky began to look a little brighter. We need the sun to show up here soon. I have once again spent two days inside. My car is getting plenty of rest like it did in March and April. OH, I did have to run to get milk. But that hardly counts, though I finally showered today. lol

By noon, I was situated in front of the TV cuz the Packers were in Texas trying to rebound after last week’s first loss of the season. And, in fine fashion, they did just that. So, next week…bring on them thar Vikings! This time it’s in Green Bay. Ha!

It was after the game that I showered and ran to Kwik Trip to get my milk. I stopped by the mailbox when I returned to pick up a few days of mail. Once again, there’s no real point to go to the mailbox every day like there was once. Now, it’s a lot of political flyers and other miscellaneous items. Though, this time, I had a couple of bills, one package from Amazon and an envelope from my oldest brother; the envelope contained three pictures (and my class picture) of the time I went with my best buddy to Arkansas over the spring break of my senior year. Holy crappola! I’m not sure I ever saw these pics and I’m not sure why he had them. He is seven years older and he was long gone by the time I was 18. In any case, I’ll be using one of those pictures this week on Throwback Thursday. It will be my FB pic of the day before Halloween comes due 🙂 Another pic was of me and my aunt and the final was of me and my buddy, who I had lunch with here a couple of months ago. I’m waiting for him to respond to my initial text…”Hey! You ready for a blast from the past?” I think he’ll be as surprised as I was, but he’ll also love seeing it. He loved my aunt and uncle and he had a great time on the trip. So, that was a highlight in my day 🙂

As to the Amazon package. Tonight’s pic is of the DVD that was in the envelope. I doubt many people are aware of this film with Alan Alda. It was a fun little 1980s romantic romp with Alan Alda’s normal craziness he brings to every character he plays. The music is great fun, and I never see this film any place any more. So, when I did a search and it showed Amazon carried it, I ordered it. That leaves one final package from that order a couple of weeks ago and it’s supposedly coming Tuesday. We shall see. It’s another piece of my childhood 🙂

I have to tell you how I’m becoming that old person who sits outside, watching the animals in the yard, throwing food to them. It’s just too funny but these squirrels are a blast to watch with my apples. I took one yesterday and another one today. Yesterday, I cut the apple into quarters. This time, however, I stayed to watch. And it wasn’t ten minutes before one squirrel came along, spotted a quarter, picked it up with his little paws and just chowed on it for about 5 minutes at the base of the tree before scurrying up the tree with the apple in his mouth. He was back down (or another squirrel came down once he heard the news), grabbed another apple quarter, nibbled it quickly before scooting back up that tree. Then another squirrel came down (or the same one) and this time, he picked up the quarter and ran it to a different tree. He believes in spreading the wealth, apparently. Or she. No idea what gender these squirrels are! Today was no different, but this time, I didn’t have to wait. I opened the screen, called out to them, “Ok! Dinnertime!” and I had thrown the first quarter and from behind the tree came the squirrel. I threw the other three pieces near him as he once again dined by the base until he decided to run it up. Once again, after two went up, the third went to a neighboring tree. I didn’t stick around for the fourth one. LOL. I get the biggest kick out of watching these guys. My question, however, is do they expect an apple every day and are they inclined to have a biological clock that tells them long about 5 or so dinner will appear? Hmmm….questions for consideration for another time 😛

I finished the final episode of season one of Away. A satisfying ending to the season. No major cliffhanger that leaves you crying for a second one to follow. I watched some of the Broncos game as they were playing in the snow. That was fun. And now, once I post this, I will make s’ghetti for dinner tonight. I’ll throw in some ground turkey that I’ll brown up before adding it to the noodles. It’s a tasty little dish and will keep me happy for a few days. The evening has a brand new series beginning on HBO entitled The Undoing. It stars Nicole Kidman and Hugh Grant. It looks intriguing, and since it’s HBO, I am certain it will be worthy of my time. It’s also a David E. Kelly production. I like his stuff. And then, once again, at ten, Dick Van Dyke for an hour. Then sleep. Last night I could NOT fall asleep for my life. I had to reset the timer on the TV and throw in another DVD cuz I stayed awake for the first one. That just doesn’t happen. However, once I settled back in, I was asleep quickly. I don’t get it. My sleeping habits are truly changing and I really don’t like it.

This is our final week of October. As you know, Halloween is Saturday. I am going to have a Halloween buddy over for some horror movies but I’ll tell you about that later. Not a busy week but happy that the temps are going to be rising a bit. The snow should be gone by week’s end. And that makes many smile, I’m thinking. So, I wish you a fine Monday and I’ll be back to let you know how that s’ghetti turned out and maybe I’ll even have my new DVD! That would be groovy cool!

G’Night!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.