Nightly Reflections – Friday, October 30th, 2020

Happy Hallow’s Eve! So much going on in the next four days. Halloween, Turning Back The Clock, Election Day, and all the anxiety from the virus surge and the disparity between people’s feelings. I hope a month from now, life is looking a whole lot more hopeful. My money says it will. I guess if I was pessimistic about it, I’d be in the pits of despair now. Which I’m not.

Welcome to the end of your work week. We now know that next week will be the final full week of school in ISD 196. Sadly, it returns to all distance learning again. We all know that NO ONE wants this type of life for those in education. It’s not good for the kids, for the teachers and the staff, and frankly, down the road, it won’t be good for society. These are important years for kids and school plays a big role in getting them to be responsible citizens in society. Yet, with the country exploding with Covid, how can anyone argue against this approach. We know a vaccine is coming. When is still up in the air, but this can’t go on forever. We also know that. I think come spring, life will be improving with the virus. My money says life will be on its way back to what we once knew by April. I won’t be surprised if schools are back full force by then. However, I know I am more optimistic than my friends. Yet, it’s the attitude I choose to have. Defeat right now is not a possible thought for me. We will beat Covid. And we will celebrate the day when we’re told the masks can finally be trashed. How’s that for the Mary Poppins approach to living life? 🙂

Ok. So, it’s Friday. And today I ran some errands that needed to be run. Yet, I need to revisit yesterday so I can explain that first pic. I ran to Treasure Island yesterday once again to pick up the fifth and final piece of Crockpot Cookware. Each week they gave out one piece to members with the TI card. I got down there a couple of hours before the gift room opened so I played my video poker machine until it was time to pick up my final piece. By 12:30, I was heading in that direction, but I had to pass the restaurant that gives me one free meal a day (if I choose, and no…I don’t choose to go down there each day). I stopped in, was assigned a table, told the server I’d be eating breakfast for lunch, and while my meal was being prepared, I went to the room, presented my membership card and my driver’s license, got the piece and walked back to the restaurant. It’s now complete. Yay. The worst part, however, is figuring out where the heck I’m going to put the five new pieces. It’s going to require me going through my cupboards in my kitchen. Not too excited about that. Once done with my meal, I returned to my machine a while longer. And I’m glad I did. I left with some of THEIR money. Two weeks in a row. WOO HOO! And I smiled all the way home 🙂

The other pic tonight is of two sauces I received from a friend in New York who, when he learned of my last pasta attempt, thought I should try this authentic Italian sauce. I’d never heard of it. However, one of my former students who is apparently Italian through and through, has often criticized my pasta attempts as well as my penchant for Hawaiian pizza. In his eyes, I’ve been terribly sacrilegious regarding Italian cuisine. I sent him this pic and waiting to see if he’s impressed that I am now in possession of two authentic products made in Italy. My friend who sent them swears by them. (since writing this previous batch of sentences, I heard from my student…he was impressed, apparently…or at least encouraged. lol He said they sell this stuff at Costco. Hmmmmm….) The jars arrived today, so when I next make spaghetti, I’ll be using the Four Cheese sauce and I’ll likely buy some breadsticks and use the Marinara sauce with that. So, there ya go. No more packages for me for a while now. Sigh.

i followed up on my ballot today. If you remember, I voted last week. Well, it says it was received and will be counted. Good. That’s one less thing I’ll have on my mind. I also decided it was time for Yang’s in Woodbury. I was craving my lemon chicken and won ton soup. I got there, was checked for temp, signed my name and address, and was shown to a table. I kinda had entertainment today. There was a table being set up for what would be five women, probably in their 60s at the youngest. They seemed to be close friends. All came in with their masks, and once they too were “checked in,” they came to the table. They were thoroughly enjoying each other’s company. Tables there are spaced safely and it’s never busy any longer. There’s a maximum should the need arise, but I have yet to see it even close to that at lunch. In any case, today’s lemon chicken and soup tasted extra special yummy. Can’t quite describe it, but it really was very good. And I drove off most content 🙂

Coming back in to Eagan, I stopped at the Cub just off Cliff in that area with the strip mall behind the theater. Got just a few things, including a Jenni-O frozen turkey breast cuz a) it was on sale, and b) I may be home alone and not in Wisconsin this year for Thanksgiving. The jury is still out on that one, but if I go back for my birthday in early December, and then Christmas, I’m thinking I’d stay back from Turkey Day. Plus, I’ll admit the numbers over there with Covid are unsettling and worrisome, especially considering all my family is over there. However, Thanksgiving is a month away so we will rethink the situation as the days and weeks pass.

From Cub I drove across Cliff to Starbucks. I needed coffee beans and wanted to make a deposit into my account, courtesy Treasure Island :-), and also picked up a iced chai tea latte. Once we’re in November, my drink of choice for two months will be peppermint white mocha, in their annual Christmas cups 🙂 Next week, baby!

Tonight, I am going to watch, finally, The Pit And The Pendulum. And tomorrow, for Halloween, I am having a nighttime visitor. If you’ll recall about month or two ago, I had a young man over who wanted me to watch the Spanish horror film on Netflix. Well, he once again has asked to visit and watch yet another (or two) considering it’s Halloween night. His mom wants NOTHING to do with horror films. And I’m more than happy to watch one with him. I actually have the evening planned. He’ll have a bit of a voice in it, but a few things he’s just going to have to sit through. lol He’ll tolerate it cuz he’s a great kid. And they’re entertaining, so I am sure he’ll enjoy. However, I’ll get more specific tomorrow night when I post. By then, he’ll be sitting in the highly esteemed recliner. I know, I know. So selfless. 🙂

So…hoping your Friday night is a night of relaxation for you. You gonna prep for Halloween like I am with a scary movie? I may watch some college ball too. We shall see. Tomorrow morning, it’s more Scooby Doo New Movies and I’ll be watching at least one episode of my new DVD I got a few days ago that I shared here. Saturday morning cartoons. Ya can’t beat ’em. Until Halloween night, may you not be frightened by any weird noises or shadows that cross your path 🙂

G’Night!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.