Nightly Reflections – Sunday, October 24th, 2021

A Sunday with no sunshine and chilly temps. Oh well. One week from today is Halloween and then we’re in November. I see highs are in the 40s in one week. The predictions for a colder and snowier winter are out there. Maybe that begins soon. Someone sent me a map put out by Sven regarding a COMPUTER FORECASTED snowstorm in nine days. Sven points out it’s a silly computer forecast, but is it? Will we see white sooner than later? Will we be wearing winter coats long before we really want to? So many questions, so few answers 😛

Happy Sunday. What kind of a day have you had? Mine began with a realization that I am going to need a plumber. Soon. When I run water in my kitchen sink, my spray hose leaks like crazy. This sink and the fixtures are not that old. Within ten years old. The one before that lasted twenty-plus years. So, I am hunting down a plumber to come visit and give me the harsh news of what this is going to run me. So much fun. Not.

Last night, I watched two episodes of Foundation and watched the Braves move on to this coming week’s World Series. A good night as Saturday nights go. Then I watched SNL with Jason Sudeikis. It was a lot of fun, but I only lasted, as is usually the case, until the Update skit was done. I couldn’t wait to crash last night, and I slept rather well. Had one of my longest dreams I can ever remember having. School related. I suspect proctoring might have had something to do with that. In any case, I got back the sleep I missed having to wake up Saturday morning extra early. Next weekend…gonna be pretty sweet. That news won’t happen until Friday night’s post. Stay tuned. I think you’re gonna like it.

I didn’t get to tell you yesterday that during the proctoring, I was working on a scene in the screenplay. This scene is one that begins the build-up to the climax. As I wrote, new ideas came to me in how the scene was going to play out. That’s so exciting. I went into the scene basically knowing what I wanted to achieve, but then these roads suddenly appear for me to choose to go down or not. If the road looks like it might be the right road to choose, I do it. If it doesn’t work out, I return to the point I made the decision and go down a different road. For me, writing, and especially creating something specific, is exciting as to see something appear that didn’t exist when I began to write…well, I can’t articulate how fun that is and how exciting it is to see a new idea take flight. So, today, I finished the scene. I’ll be reaching out to my writing partner so we can FaceTime this week and he can give me his feedback. I know that it’s going to require a little work reformatting because I’m still new to this screenwriting dialogue and action, but it’s slowly coming for me. Fun, eh? 🙂

Spent the first part of the afternoon watching the Packers beat Washington 24-10. That’s six wins in a row. They started the season looking like no one cared, but since then, they’ve been kicking major buttocks each and every week. They next play this coming Thursday night. At least no stress next Sunday 🙂 And they’re playing the Cardinals, who as of this moment, haven’t lost a game yet. Should be a good game. In the Cards’ stadium.

The second half of the afternoon was spent reading and writing and accidental napping 🙂 Nothing too horribly bad about that, eh? After a disappointing second game on CBS between Chicago and Tampa Bay, I went to It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown! I love that I can access this show any time in October. Actually, all year, but let’s get real. This is a pure October gem. And I’ll likely work it in every day this week, leading right up to next Sunday’s holiday! And then, the next day, you know what’s next. So excited!

Episode #4 tonight on PBS of Grantchesterchester. This is such a good show. And it’s so short. I believe next week is the end once again, making it only five episodes long. For those of us who love it, that’s not anywhere near long enough. It’s a classy production with a thoughtful and intelligent script.

It will be strange not to watch a baseball game tonight. Now we wait until Tuesday night for the Series to begin. Should be a competitive match-up. I’m sure the networks would have preferred Boston and the Dodgers, but nice to see these two teams going at it. Atlanta has been coming on all playoffs, so I’m thinking they might be the team to beat. In any case, it’s football tonight, Grantchester and that will likely be it. The week to come is light in the commitment department. Writing group and lunch with my track boss and I believe that’s it. Come Friday, however, well, as I’ve said…stay tuned 🙂 Right now, Halloween has me entertaining my horror movie buddy and, believe it or not, his mother has shown an interest in joining us. Can’t believe she wants to sit through the original Halloween and the most recent movie before the one in the theaters right now. She hates horror films, but she must know what she’s doing, yes? Hehe…I told them it’s also the evening when the Christmas tree makes its triumphant return to its rightful place aside my fireplace. How excited you think I am for that? Ha!

All right. Time for me to get creative with dinner. In the meantime, you have yourselves a nice Sunday evening and may your week begin on a positive note. Mark and John…let tonight’s quote speak to you. I love these words.

The Inspirational Quote of the Night: “Others may write from the head, but he writes from the heart, and the heart will always understand him.” – Washington Irving, author

G’Night!

2 thoughts on “Nightly Reflections – Sunday, October 24th, 2021

  1. I cannot remember the last time I watched The Great Pumpkin — just added it to the DVR and I am sure it will magically appear soon. I would imagine I watched it 10 times in my youth and probably 5-10 times with children.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The only place you can see it now is AppleTV+ They are the sole owners of the special since last year. Was a controversial deal. I think it sucks for people who don’t have the service. But, I love the special and am glad I can see it any time I want now. It has so much nostalgia connected to it for me.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.