Nightly Reflections – Monday, May 23rd, 2016

Today turned out to be a nicer day than forecast.  I’ll take it.  Though, as I write this, the house is sticky again.  Fighting the urge to throw on the air conditioning.  I wish I could hear other machines running in the back yards, but I don’t!  I can’t lead on matters such as this!

Today was a zoo day.  Thought I’d get out there since Mother Nature gave us a break, but I should have gotten out there before 1:00.  Probably would have been cooler at 9.  I may have to rethink that move next time.

In any case, the zoo was, as always, a pleasant place to walk.  And sit.  And walk and sit.  My lower back is terribly weak and I can go for a bit, but then, I need to sit for a minute or two to let the back regain its strength and then continue to walk.  When I got there, I stopped at that area where the fountain is and the kids run through the water that shoots up from the pavement.  I read a chapter or two and then proceeded in to the animal portion of the zoo.  I tire of the coffee shops all the time, so a place like the zoo works well.  I have yet to write there, but that day is coming.

Speaking of writing, one of the accomplishments this weekend IN Wisconsin, amazingly enough, I managed to write the column for next week already.  I normally don’t have it done until Friday and then sometimes not even until my last deadline, Monday morning.  However, based on my sister’s request and the loss of her 11-year old retriever, I found inspiration for that column.  You’ll get a chance to see it a week from this Thursday’s post.  The early reaction from my sister and a few friends is positive, and I’m happy.  I don’t write many where the heart is involved in a vulnerable and delicate subject, but when I do, I want it to work, beyond question.  Apparently, it has done that.

The other highlight of this day comes in the form of tonight’s picture.  Years back, I saw a reprint of the Dick and Jane books at Barnes and Noble.  I never bought them then and I kicked myself for missing the chance.  Well, I was playing around the other night on Amazon and lo and behold, there they were.  The Dick and Jane hardcovers.  I wanted them. I needed them.  I ordered them.  Three of them.  Paging through them is so cool.  I love nostalgic items and it doesn’t get much more nostalgic than this book series.  They will be a conversation piece on my coffee table or book shelf if I ever get one up and running.  Until then, I’ll enjoy picking them up and paging through them, for sure.  They are so very cool.

Tomorrow’s highlights?  Two new books AND my new recliner arrives in the morning!  Can.  Not.  Wait!   So, you can probably guess what tomorrow night’s picture will represent 🙂  Until then, stay cool and dry.  More rain is coming mid-week!

G’night!

IMG_4934

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.