Nightly Reflections – Tuesday, May 24th, 2016

Let’s begin tonight by telling you about today’s chair delivery.  Yes.  The recliner I’ve been waiting for now for six weeks came today.  For my den.  It’s the same recliner as I have in the living room.  That’s how much I loved that recliner.

However…

My dear Lord, is it BIG in that little den!  The two guys carried it in from the outside through the patio and when they plunked it down on the carpet, I was a tad overwhelmed.  It absolutely dwarfs the room.  However, it’s my den.  It’s my house.  I can live with it.  If I have company at some point, they may chuckle at the monstrous size it is in that room, but once they sit in it, they’ll forget about appearance because of the comfort of the blamed thing!  I’m good with it 🙂

I’ve been told by some that they like it when I talk about movies and new books, so I’ll share today’s other purchases.  Two new books and I threw the pictures in tonight for those needing a visual of each.

The Joe Hill novel is going to be a creepy one.  He is Stephen King’s son.  He’s been making a name for himself in the last ten years.  I read where this novel is considered one of summer’s top ten books.  It’s over 700 pages, but it’s ok.  I’m retired 🙂  Then, the Justin Cronin’s novel is the third and final installment in his series.  It’s science fiction.  Definitely not for people who aren’t fans of the genre.  I am not sure when I’ll attack these, but I know I’ll attack The Fireman first because I haven’t gotten to the second book in Cronin’s series yet.  Some day.  🙂

Tonight was The Price Is Right, prime time!  Tonight was the second of three shows at night this week.  Last night, the contestants pulled from the audience were paired with previous contestants from Survivor.  Tomorrow night’s show highlights players from previous Amazing Race shows.  I have never watched either of those reality shows, but I still love the game show.  However, tonight’s features my first summer show love contestants from previous seasons.  Big Brother contestants paired up with audience members for prizes.  In the end, there was also a charity that would benefit from the winning showcase pair.  Lots of fun.  A hint of summer fun heading into Memorial Day weekend.  Entertaining, at the very least.

Today was my immediate boss’ birthday.  I think of her far more as a close friend than the other role she played in my life.  So, I stopped in to school to drop off her present and a card.  We briefly chatted before she had to go to lunch to meet her husband.  It was still nice to have the opportunity to bond.  I always like to recognize the actual day of the birthday if possible and I did just that today.

I don’t know about you, but I’m hoping for some healthy storms this week.  Since it’s going to be so rainy for the next ten days, we need to at least have some good thunder and lightning to ramp up the season.  Like a good snowstorm, it’s hard to get a good old-fashioned thunderstorm these past years.  Definitely don’t happen like they did growing up.  We’ll cross our fingers.

If I’m you, I’m taking the umbrella tomorrow.  Enough said.  Have a good night and day and we’ll check back here tomorrow night.  Ciao and …

G’night!

IMG_4941

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.