Nightly Reflections – ON LOCATION, Friday, October 29th, 2021

Well, here it is 11:00 in the evening and I am first sitting down to write. There’s a good reason for this. I haven’t been near my laptop until now. Why? Read on.

I told you last night this was going to be ON LOCATION and that’s exactly what is happening. I am presently in Tomahawk, Wisconsin, and I’m in a cabin with my sis and her hubby. We are spending a quick weekend here for fun. My sister had reserved the place, a beautiful place I might add, and she asked me if I was interested in driving over to spend the weekend with them. My older brother and his wife would have possibly been here but they will be at Camp Randall for the Iowa/Badgers game at 11 in the morning. So, here I am!

I drove here today, leaving the south burbs around noon. I had just about reached 35E when I got a text that my CPap supplies arrived at my door so rather than leave the box there, I returned to the house, pulled it inside and then took off again. It was a three and a half-hour drive. Most of it was pure clouds. It started to rain at the very end, but only a light drizzle.

I pulled into the place and was greeted by the brother-in-law. Walked directly into the place from the parking lot. I was told it was the only cabin that was multi-level. It’s really nice. There are two big king-sized beds in the two bedrooms upstairs with a loft that has a bunkbed. There’s a little deck that extends off this little social area where you can look out over the lake. Lake Aire. Again, quite nice.

We sat around the kitchen counter chatting for a while, christening the weekend with a drink made by the Bartender otherwise known as my sister. Finally, we were ready to being Night #1. Our first stop was a little place called the Tilted Loon Saloon. It was a nice little place on the water. It looked like an average Friday night in the northwoods of Wisconsin on Fish Fry night. We had a drink there before heading to the next place where we’d ultimately have dinner. That place was called Bootleggers. It was a fun supper club. It was built in 1926. Phenomenal. We enjoyed a couple more cocktails before heading into the dining room. I was hoping you’d see what my meal was but I am now learning that I can’t seem to access my email on my laptop which means this post, and likely tomorrow night’s post, will be without pics, which kind of sucks. I’ll keep trying but MSN has already locked me out of my account. Not sure how I manage to break back in. Frustrating.

In any case, after dinner, we returned to the road that would take us back to our cabin, but we stopped at a place called BillyBob’s. Yes. A bar. Surprise. And it was there where we parked ourselves and watched the third game of the World Series. My sister and her husband seemed to make new friends at the bar. Not a surprise. People in these places out for a Friday night are in a good mood and more than willing to talk with total strangers. The game went sort of late and then we headed back to the homestead for Night #1. I couldn’t wait to return to write and now can’t wait to crawl into bed. I’m really tired. There’s likely more I had to share, but I’m too damn tired to write any more. I’m lucky to have produced this much. It’s time, however, to prepare for Day #2. No telling what craziness we’ll discover in the town tomorrow, the day before Halloween, and the morning of a Badger game.

So, as I sign off, I am going to still see if I can figure out this email thing so I can include pictures but now you know why there aren’t any if there aren’t any. lol Am I tired? Dear God, yes. Goodnight. Or Good morning.

Rather than rewrite or delete words, I’ll just tell you I managed to recover my access to my email so the pictures arrived for me to incorporate into tonight’s post. The meal I had was the same as my brother-in-law. They were referred to as Sliders. Three little sandwiches. Prime Rib sandwiches. With fries and cole slaw. I wasn’t keen on the slaw, but the sandwiches were really good. Only ate two. Brought one home to the cabin. So did the bro-in-law. And the meal was only $12. Gotta love those prices. Ok. Now I’m done. I head the bed calling from the second floor. I suspect my sister is already dead to the world and her husband has crashed in front of the TV in a recliner. Similar to what happens in their home in Beaver Dam. lol

The Inspirational Quote of the Night: “If you try to get rid of fear and anger without knowing their meaning, they will grow stronger and return.” – Deepak Chopra, author

G’Night!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.