Nightly Reflections – Saturday, October 30th, 2021

Ok. It’s not even eight in the morning and I am beginning this now cuz I am NOT going to be trying to write tonight, late, after we’ve been out all day. It’s a cloudy start to the day and 42 degrees. The three of us are awake and just about ready to walk around back of this place to check out the lake and such. So begins Day #2 in the northwoods of Wisconsin πŸ™‚

The morning began slowly. I was the first to shower. We had ESPN College GameDay on the tube. We had a few items for a treat before heading out for the game. I finally had the chance to check out the back of the place where we’re staying. See tonight’s pictures for more on that. Very nice place. I could easily return to this place for a week with my laptop where I could just write. I love being in this part of the state. I wish I had a place to escape to like this any time I wanted.


It is now 7:00 in the evening and after a full day out and about, we are back at the cabin, we’ve eaten and are settling in for a night of Ohio State and Penn State. We were hoping to watch the Series but this establishment apparently doesn’t have a contract with Fox Sports. So, we were out of luck as to watching the fourth game. My sister was especially not happy as she’s not keen on watching college ball if it isn’t Wisconsin.

In any case, we had a fun day. A couple more pictures from the beauty of the day. It was incredible. I was told by folks in my neck of the woods that the burbs were seeing similar weather. So nice on October 30th,

First we stopped at The Gin Mill in downtown Tomahawk. There were two people in there at the time of the Badger game. It was the kind of bar you probably would see in Mayberry. The bartender was an older man, larger and slow moving, but friendly. We had one beverage there…I started with soda today but that would change quickly enough…and after watching the first half. I suspect we had two beverages now that I think of it. Still, just soda ;-P

From there, we went to The Thirsty Giraffe. That was sort of a ghost town but there were signs a Halloween party was brewing for the evening crowd. It was here where we spotted the slogan that is in tonight’s second picture. Typical sight you’ll see in any Wisconsin bar out in the boonies. Kinda funny, but I know…inappropriate. I don’t think bars worry about inappropriate here too much. We actually ordered two appetizers at this bar and then left for The Tilted Loon, my sister’s request. That’s where the lake pic came from. My sis and her hubby stayed inside, but I had to go out and sit on the deck, looking out onto the water. The Badger game was essentially over with Wisconsin beating Iowa. I was ready to bask. And bask I did. I finally went inside, only to have us head out to the next destination, the final destination. BillyBob’s. It’s the place we were at the longest last night. It was a fun place then, but today, we knew it would be less people and more sane. And we were right.

While we were there, we chatted about a lot of things that pertained to our younger years. Reminisced, I guess πŸ™‚ It was simply a nice afternoon. I told the two lovebirds I’d buy pizza to take back to the cabin and so, upon the completion of our final beverage (I had long ago given up on the soda idea) and we took the pizza back to whence we began.

Having finished dinner, we were all kinda tired. We continue to be reminded we just aren’t the young pups we used to be. When we finally settled into our respective spots in the living room, we discovered the sad news about the baseball game. I gave my sister my phone so she could watch it there. I was able to access thanks to YouTubeTV. I finished this Reflection and was more than happy to settle in.

Inspirational Quote of the Night: “Without inspiration, we’re all like a box of matches that will never be lit.” – David Archuleta, vocalist.

G’Night!

4 thoughts on “Nightly Reflections – Saturday, October 30th, 2021

  1. Nice post. I’ve been to that area of Wisconsin a couple of times. The weather in the cities was OOTW today. It was 54F at about 130pm and stayed nice the rest of the day. It is funny when we go to a quiet idyllic place that we fret about poor internet coverage. The pictures will arrive when you are back in the 1st world (Minnesota). Yours is a 3rd world problem πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I won’t even try to tell you here what the problem was, but I finally worked through it, not without a ton of frustration. I am no good with patience when dealing with technology. This was just one more example, but I finally got it. No reason it should even have happened. In any case, problem solved. Check the pics. You might enjoy them πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.