Nightly Reflections – Thursday, June 23rd, 2022

The heat has definitely made a return visit. Nothing we can do about it, right? I just checked out July 4th and the forecast still looks summer warm. That’s fine. It’s to be expected and we won’t necessarily bake on that flatbed when doing the parade announcing with the judges sitting next to me. Eleven days from now 🙂

I had no real agenda today except to be home between noon and three to watch Hearing #5. Then, last night, I saw an email from Barnes and Noble. Dang them. They know I have an addiction problem. They continue to taunt me with their book news. lol This one got past me a month ago but reading the synopsis in the email, I knew I wanted to have it. It deals with time travel. There are three keys that will guarantee a book ending in my home. One, if it deals with the assassination of JFK. Two, if it deals with a writer or books as a topic. And three, time travel. I have ALWAYS been mesmerized by that topic. That’s why when Stephen King published his rather popular 11/22/63, it dealt with both the assassination AND time travel. I was in heaven. Here’s a cut and paste of the new addition to my family of unread books thus far…”On the eve of her 40th birthday, Alice’s life isn’t terrible. She likes her job, even if it isn’t exactly the one she expected. She’s happy with her apartment, her romantic status, her independence, and she adores her lifelong best friend. But her father is ailing, and it feels to her as if something is missing. When she wakes up the next morning she finds herself back in 1996, reliving her 16th birthday. But it isn’t just her adolescent body that shocks her, or seeing her high school crush, it’s her dad:  the vital, charming, 40-something version of her father with whom she is reunited. Now armed with a new perspective on her own life and his, some past events take on new meaning. Is there anything that she would change if she could?” There you have it. And how did I feel walking out of B/N with a brand new hardcover book? You got it. Ecstatic! I keep telling you…the small things in life make life worth living 🙂

On the way home, I decided I needed to finally stop someplace for an actual watering “can.” In this case, however, it’s plastic. I went to Fluegel’s to support the hometown business and bought a $9 watering container for my plants. One, I can make one trip to the patio now instead of two. My previous container was rusting through, as I discovered yesterday when letting it sit for a while with a gallon’s worth of water inside. Yikes! Two, it is easier to water the plants as I can maneuver the nozzle of the container into the heart of the plant. I gotta tell ya, this year, these two plants are so thick in foliage it’s hard to find a place to actually water them. When I got home, I gave the new device a trial run and it worked pretty well. I also added some of the fertilizer powder I bought last year when one of you suggested I do it for what was then sickly looking plants. They already look a little less than they did when they first arrived, so I figured this is a good time to start the fertilizer. I love looking at those too much to lose them this early in the season. 🙂

So, I had seen on my YouTube TV that provides me my access to normal stations that the hearing was going to start at noon. Not true. Finally, after I was sitting here trying to figure out when it was going to begin, they tossed up on the screen a notification that it would begin at 3PM ET. That was enough for me. So, I managed to do a couple other things before being glued to the tube once again for a couple of hours. And I was. Had I known, however, it wasn’t going to begin until 2:00 our time, I would have run to Target to discuss with someone in the optical department what kind of discount a person like me with AARP-United Healthcare insurance. I checked out my policy online last night after the eye appointment and the new prescription in my glasses. From what I could tell/understand, I should have some type of discount on at least the lenses. I have issues, however, with Target’s glasses. A topic for another night. I’ll check out that info tomorrow.

So, speaking of tomorrow…I’ll be running over to pick up my horror movie buddy and his mom around 7:45 and off to the airport we’ll go. They’ll be catching their plane to the Coast Guard Academy as my buddy will be starting that new phase of his life in a few days. A exciting time for him. When I return, it will be not long before I have to head to the oral surgeon for the next appointment on the dental implant. This one, I was told, is about 20 minutes. From what I gathered the last time, this one is going to be an examination of the area where the tooth was extracted. I think she needs to see if it’s ready for the next phase where they insert the screw or whatever you want to call it. And that, apparently, happens two weeks later. I have a question for her tomorrow. What if I choose to wait on this? I paid for the extraction. They showed me what my bill will be for the implant procedure. And that i wouldn’t have to pay it until two weeks from now for that appointment. So, first, I want to know if I can wait. Second, I want to know if this appt tomorrow is simply a follow-up to the extraction and consequently not needing a payment because I did already for the extraction, or if tomorrow’s appt is part of the $4800 I’ll have to pay in two weeks should I follow through on this process. I’m not in any rush to spend this money, especially since I’ve discovered I can eat fairly well, even with a gaping space in my upper right area of teeth. I guess I’ll know 24 hours from now.

The Brewers and the Cardinals played their fourth game this afternoon in the 4-game series. Brewers needed to win if they were going to split the series and share the first place slot in the division. I kept one eye on the game while listening to the hearing. The Brewers kept it close but they won. 6-4! Yay!

Tonight, I am catching up on four network shows since the game happened this afternoon. And these episodes I’ll be watching will mark the end to most of the shows’ seasons til September. Plenty of other things to watch in July and August 🙂 Tonight is lasagna for dinner. Simek’s, specifically. I love their frozen lasagna you can pick up at Cub and I assume Target and other places. I get two meals out of it. Toss in some garlic toast and it’s a meal that works for me 🙂 That leaves pizza for tomorrow night again 🙂 And before that, I’ll fill ya in on the airport and the dental implant and my glasses and all that good stuff 🙂 So, have a great Friday. More warmth and then maybe storms tomorrow. Think rain everyone!

G’Night!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.